Happy Quilting in Cuenca

Standard

Life in Cuenca, Ecuador continues to be great. I have lived in Ecuador nearly 18 mos now and feel more settled all the time.

About 6 wks ago, I was put on medical “house arrest” for a few weeks to address a torn meniscus. Medical tests showed that I also have arthritis in both knees and a couple of other knee issues. It is kind of trying, discouraging…  Oh, age issues… but not the end of the world, certainly.  So for about 6 weeks, my days revolved around heat, ice and the usual array of interventions to improve the outlook for my knees. I have had the best physical therapy in my life here.  Medical care was available the same day I requested an appointment and I was able to get a second opinion on the same day.  The costs of an x-ray and other tests were reasonable – total for two appointments with  doctors, several tests – all came to $145!  So, I worked hard and have some hard work ahead to keep things moving well but no surgery at this time.

Probably the biggest adjustment is having only one trip per day up/down the stairs from the sleeping/office area to the main part of the living space. This is challenging because my sewing studio is on the second floor and a typical day used to include about 10 trips up and down the stairs for various reasons.  But cutting that to one trip per day has reduced pain dramatically so it got my attention.

A zoo quilt for grandson Logan, due to be born on US presidential election day.

I plan my day carefully… and my husband is nominated for saint award because he has done a lot of “fetching” this or that, shops for groceries,cooks dinner and washes the dishes and is doing a great job of all the above.  Gee, my knee may hurt for a long time.  Lenny is a true gem.

So what does one do on “semi-house arrest”?  I have recently completed some quilts.  I usually work for a few hours in the morning on the current quilt project, then come downstairs to check the garden, answer email and do a few other things.  Today I was watering when a large insect staggered across the small patch of grass.  His wings were wet so I had a chance to get a fairly good look at him.  His features were amazing to behold.  He was about 3.5 inches long with a shape similar to a grass-hopper but much more delicate and elegant.  His legs, body and head were brilliant deep blue, an unreal glistening color.  His wings were a deep rust yet were transparent when they opened.  His eyes were very obvious on his huge head and he WATCHED me as I tried to position myself ever closer to him to take a photo.   He would turn his head to track me and then turn his body toward me – I am not sure if he was menacing me or bluffing but it was a little spooky. I kept telling him I did not want to harm him – I just wanted a good photo of such a handsome specimen.  But I did not say it in Espanol so he remained concerned by my interest.

Unfortunately I could not find a camera that would take great shots of the insect so I only have a couple of shots on my phone – its not a smart phone, either.  I later said that is it also not “smart” to have several cameras in the house but none of them work for one reason or another.  Soon, the large insect visitor dried off enough to fan his wings for a bit and took off like a helicopter, disappearing over the garden wall toward traffic on Avenida de las Americas.  I believe his type may be a rare visitor here.  With our alpine nights, we get very few bugs. Anyway, it was a treat for me to see such an exotic, colorful, HUGE flying insect. I wonder if he lives in the jungle?

Here are more photos of quilts:

This quilt is for a toddler girl.  It is the first quilt I have sold.  I have since been commissioned to make two more quilts for grandchildren. Quilts are not commonly found in Cuenca, EC so I feel like the quilting queen!

and

I a giving this quilt to my 4 yr old grandson, Blake.  It has dinosauers on both sides!

Skateboarding dinos.  You have to love it!

I will see the grandchildren soon.  Going to Oregon for the birth of my daughter’s second child. I will see the 2 grandchildren who live in San Diego because my son’s family is going to Oregon for Thanksgiving week – a grand reunion for all of us.

And this brings me to gluten free Key Lime pie:

Key Lime Pie was a hit at a recent dinner

The Cuenca Gluten Free User’s Group meets monthly, with the next meeting this week, on Wed, October 17, from 10 am until 12 noon.  Meeting is held at my home, Los Alamos 3-66 y tres de noviembre, about 3 blocks away from Super Maxi on Av. de los Americas. The guest speaker this month is from San Sebas Cafe.  Increasingly local restaurants want to serve the needs of those who do not eat wheat.

Cost is $5 which includes coffee or tea and a safe gluten-free snack.

All for tonight.

Sharon

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Morning Update – Tuesday, October 16, 2012 « South of Zero

Leave a Reply

