Marvelous days for quilting, Cuenca, Ecuador

Standard
Marvelous days for quilting, Cuenca, Ecuador

Cups Cups Cups!Queen size quilt topLast week was a wonderful week for me!  I invited people I know to an open house to see the quilts I have made recently.  My friend, Teresa D., hung them with me.  We worked HARD getting this ready.  We put up 11 quilts .

Since several people are not quilters, I also created several steps demonstrating how a quilt is made, using projects that are “in the works” laid out on different small tables. Over two afternoons, about 45 people came by to take a look and offer opinions and encouragement.  Voted most popular quilt was “Crazy Cats”, a whimsical paper-pieced wall hanging I completed summer of 2013.

IMG_0184 (1)

The house looks wonderful with these creations warming the walls. Teresa is also the friend who loaned me her machine when my Pfaff broke.  I continue to borrow her machine until May, when I am taking the Pfaff to the US to be cleaned and repaired. I have not found a trained technician here to work on a Pfaff.  Living in Cuenca has a couple of downsides.  A trained Pfaff technician is a hard thing to find in Ecuador!

Here are some photos of the quilts hanging in the home I share with my wonderful husband, Lenny. Life is good!

IMG_0181 (1)

Thanks for reading my blog!

Happy quilting!

5 responses »

      • Poco a poco. 😉 Lots going on including hubby being gone in June back to the US for his youngest first baby. Then we got late Aug to mid-Oct. I think formal Spanish lessons will be on the agenda then. Hope we can meet up with you and Len along the way!

    • Thank you, nsturgill, for sharing your experience. I’m sure I will wonder why it took me 20 months to get some quilts up in this house! After a week, I can say, it feels so good to see them in a different light and at different times of day. And just “completed” – ahhhh. The coffee/tea cups is the hardest quilt project I have ever done – my first paper-piecing quilt – but I like the technique enough to do other projects as well using that technique.

Leave a Reply

