A Straight-Forward-Appearing Pattern Proves Hard

Standard
A Straight-Forward-Appearing Pattern Proves Hard

I recently bought a quilt pattern online.  It is a perfect solution for this US citizen living permanently in Ecuador.  The pattern appeared to be something I would enjoy making.  I even  had fabrics that look a lot like the pattern.  The pattern is fine.  My skills at matching approximately 20 junctures in each 9.5 inch block are not so great.  If several points match, still several do not.

photo 2 (14)

This is a lap quilt for me.  It does not have to be perfect.  The cats will sleep on my lap on top of this quilt.  Still, I have taken this as an opportunity to improve my skills.  So far, I have found that I sometimes stitch slightly wider than 1/4″.  Big problem! Even if only for 1/2 inch, it throws junctions off.  Of course.

I have discovered my attention span wanders frequently – maybe the music is great so I’m distracted for a moment.  You know how it can be, right?  So other points may be slightly off.  I have ripped out and re-sewn block after block.  Finally, I am doing the best I can but reminding myself CATS are going to sleep on this.  It will never be in a show.  For sure!!

I hope to keep improving my skills.  On other patterns, things come out just right so this one is simply not forgiving enough for a sometime-slacker.

photo 1 (16)

Still, I am mostly enjoying the process.  For one thing, I have HATED ripping things out since I first learned to sew.  With this project, I have found, with an ergo seam ripper, I can do it quickly and without drama.  All good!

I love the colors – not my usual choices – salmon, coral, orange, shades of brown, shades of gold and snowy white.

There are 30 blocks.  I have 22 completed.  On the final blocks, I am trying to learn all I can about what I’m doing to prevent perfect matching points. Sewing when I am tired is NOT successful.  Duh!  Lowered attention to detail, much less patience, mood turns to cranky, not the ideal conditions for piecing quilt blocks.

Quilting is a metaphor for life: luscious fabrics mixed in different ways make up a whole “item” in the world.  Learning new things keeps the brain sharp.  Patience can be learned in many ways. Quilting is one of them. Perseverance is rewarded at the end.

photo 1 (17)

What are you working on this week?

3 responses »

  1. Your project will be very pretty, whether or not the points come out just right. You’re right, sewing while tired for me makes me a little careless. It’s a good time to stop for a break. Sometimes just a break to dance with your music or stretch will help.

    This week I have several things to do. I will be writing, designing, and sewing! And at the end of the week I’ll see my son!!! 🙂

    • Thanks for your ideas, Melanie. I forget to stop and stretch. Great suggestion.
      Wow, you have interesting things to do this week. And what could be a better “end of the week” than seeing your son?
      Thank you for your interest in Cuencaquiltguilt!

  2. This is exactly why I do not quilt with a pattern. You cannot dance with the fabric. I am sorry it is making you frustrated, but it is all relative.

Leave a Reply

