Rolling Out A New Year of Quilting

Standard

People often seem to review the past 12 months as a new year opens ahead for each of us.  What do you make of 2014 in your personal life?  I know there are many shocking news stories that caught our attention but what really turned your head in your personal life in the past 12 months?

My husband and I each had unexpected health issues and surgery in the last quater of the year.  So my head is turned to appreciate in some small special way every day that arrives on my doorstep.  I appreciate so much the support that poured in from other ex-pats.  It is wonderful to feel that from a small community.  Numerous Ecuadorians also offered support and help.  It is a great “neighborhood” in which we live.

I began making some chicken wall hangings to sell late in 2015.

photo 1

 

photo 1 (35)

 

I enjoyed making a single bed size quilt I call “Mud Slide” because of the combination of brown, cream, gray, tan and blue colors. The quilt is nearly done, needing only to be bound and signed.

photo (90)

 

The project that took the most concentration in 2014 to create a quilt top is a pattern I would not do again.  I am very happy with how it looks NOW but I had to tear out and re-sew so many of the squares to get pieces right.  And still many are not perfect but quilting is life – rarely perfect.  This is one quilt I will keep to remind me that I have great patience and strong perseverance at times.

perseverance = noun, steady persistence in a course of action, a purpose, a stateespecially in spite of difficulties, obstacles, or discouragement.

New quilt pattern available online

New quilt pattern available online

photo 2 (9)

Here is the quilt top ready to be completed in 2015:

jumpJacks

 

More new projects will emerge:

NewProjectFlower

 

photo 2

photo 1

One response »

  1. I enjoy seeing your work, Shannon. Sorry to hear of your health issues. I hope you’re on the mend. I’m glad to hear you’re selling your art. I’ll be interested in buying some!

Leave a Reply

